December 2020 Meeting Minutes

Monthly Club Meeting Minutes

date 2020-12-15 convened 10:00 adjourned 10:52


  • President: Phil Gates (N5ZKF) present
  • Vice President: Rick Pfeil (KI5DUJ) present
  • Secretary: Trent Owens (AG1TX) present
  • Treasurer: Sly Kapchinski (N5GQB) present

Attendees (27)

  • Trent Owens (AG1TX)
  • David R. Cook (KI5GDX)
  • Bill Rose (K5WTR)
  • John “Pocat” Walpole (K5ZY)
  • Ralph Cobb (W5RYC)
  • Avery McIntosh (N7ALM)
  • Matthew Barry (KG5LYE)
  • Tom Small (N1TOV)
  • Joshua Cook (KF5TYX)
  • Don Ling (WB5CKO)
  • Ken Reeves (KE5FIV)
  • Dick Zimmer (W5DZ)
  • Rick Pfeil (KI5DUJ)
  • Michael Narcowich (KI5BPO)
  • Harold Turbyfill (KG5SDG)
  • Lorna Flansburg (KI5FIZ)
  • Sly Kapchinski (N5GQB)
  • Dwayne Walters (W5DPW)
  • Jeff McDowell (KI5CES)
  • Brad Snyder (KG5SDE)
  • Jeremy Carter (KF5YAA)
  • Phil Gates (N5ZKF)
  • Bennie Naiser (KA5TWB)
  • Richard Epting (KG5WIV)
  • Vic Pears (KX8V)
  • Gerald Golub (W5VUI)
  • Mike Wisby (KA5HIA)

Officer Reports

President Phil Gates


  • D-STAR upgrades
    • Finally received our call sign from the FCC: KI5MMC
    • Gateway should be open for registration around Christmas.
  • Midtown Park club presence
    • Still getting updates on this
  • Prompt: Are you a member of any other Amateur Radio Clubs?

Vice-President Rick Pfeil


  • Keep collecting door prizes for when we can all get together again.
  • Please send ideas for presentations

Secretary Trent Owens


  • Please let us know if you would like to call the nets.

Treasurer Sly Kapchinski


  • Not a lot going on with the treasurer. PO Box was empty.

Old Business

No questions or comments on old business was heard.

New Business

Election of officers.

  • Thank you to Harold Turbyfill (KG5SDG) for being the point person for putting the nominations together!
  • Due to COVID, we can not meet in person. I have set up a ZOOM Poll in which members have registered and can vote anonymously.
    • Any questions regarding our method of voting tonight?
      • Nothing heard.
  • Proposed Slate:
    • President: Phil Gates (N5ZKF)
    • Vice President: Rick Pfeil (KI5DUJ)
    • Secretary: Matthew Barry (KG5LYE)
    • Treasurer: Lorna Flansburg (KI5FIZ)
      • Motion to accept: Gerald Golub (W5VUI)
      • Second: David R. Cook (KI5GDX)
      • Motion / Slate Carries.
      • General Member Vote: Passes Unanimously ( 24 / 24)
  • General membership vote for entire slate.
    • General membership vote for entire slate: Passes unanimously (24 / 24)
  • Any other new business or questions on the new business discussed tonight?
    • Nothing heard.


Nothing heard

Information Exchange

Nothing heard

Health and Welfare / Good of the Order

  • If anyone needs help with anything please reach out to the club. You can contact any of the officers at:

January Meeting

  • As of now, the meeting will be on January 16, 2021 at 9:30am and unless our current situation changes, will be held “On Air” in a NET style meeting on the 146.680 repeater. Please check the website and/or our Tuesday evening NETs @ 8 PM local time for the most current information regarding our meetings.

Next Meeting: 2021-01-16 09:30

Permanent link to this article: